On writing

Writing for myself is a lot like writing to myself. So in a way, while I’m writing a story I’m actually telling myself that story. Then I have to edit out everything which is irrelevant to the story so during this stage I’m cutting out what doesn’t seem right to another person reading it. Then I’m going to look at it from another person’s perspective so I’m literally shaping a part of myself for someone else’s senses – which I suppose is okay seeing how I’m only removing what I didn’t need/want to say anyhow, and that I’m free to leave any of that which ought to be cut out. I suppose it depends on what sacrifices or concessions I’m willing to make on the story I’m telling as to whether I should leave irrelevant parts of myself in the story which add nothing and which do not progress the story at all.

On writing

Leave a Reply

